Ophidian 2350 F.A.Q. Files
Here are some Frequently Asked Questions. If a question you have is not answered, try the forums.
For a list of errata, click here.

Starting Teams
(Q) Can I start with a team worth 9 VP?
(A) No. A starting team must equal 10 VP.

(Q) Can I start with 3 gladiators? 5 Gladiators?
(A) You can start with up to four gladiators on your team as long as they equal 10VP. This means you can have a team of 3, but you can't have a team of 5 or higher.

(Q) Do reinforcements count toward the VP or gladiator limit?
(A) No. Cards in your gladiator stack including reinforcements and higher level gladiators do not effect your VP or gladiator totals.

Hand Size
(Q) Does max hand size limit the number of cards I can hold during a wave?
(A) No. If you find ways to draw cards during a wave that go above you max hand size, you can keep them in your hand, however, during regeneration in the breather you will have to go back down to your max hand size.

(Q) A card increases my maximum hand size by 1. Does that mean I can immediately draw another card?
(A) No. Hand size will limit the number of cards drawn during regeneration in the breather and that may remain in your at the end of regeneration.

(Q) My max hand size is eight. Can I still draw two bonus cards?
(A) Yes. You will still draw two bonus cards. Bonus cards are in addition to your max hand size.

(Q) I have a card that lets me draw three bonus cards instead of two. Do I place 3 cards back at the bottom of my arsenal or two?
(A) You place three at the bottom. You must go back to your maximum hand size, which you would now be over by three instead of two.

(Q) I have 10 cards at the start of regeneration and my hand size is seven. If I keep all my cards, can I draw bonus cards?
(A) No. The rule says draw up to your max hand size plus two bonus cards. Substitute your current max hand size and bonus card amount and it reads: Draw up to 9 cards. Since you already exceed nine, you cannot draw any more. If you want to draw new cards, simply discard any number of cards at the start of regeneration.

Damage Questions
(Q) Does XDMG cause a character to use raging effects? Can XDMG be Intercepted or Protected?
(A) No and no. XDMG does not count as an attack and cannot trigger any effects that happen as the result of an attack.

(Q) If a card simply says "OR: +1 ADMG" or "DR: 1 DDMG". What is the timing?
(A) ADMG, RDMG, and DDMG all have timing built in to their definitions. ADMG is damage dealt by the attacker to the defender during an attack. RDMG is damage dealt by a raging defender to the attacker during an attack. DDMG is damage dealt by the defender to the attacker during an attack. They can only be triggered during an attack and only by the appropriate character.
Example: Lothar attacks Bloaters. Bloaters may now use its ability "DR: 1 DDMG". If Lothar had done XDMG to bloaters or would have attacked a different character, bloaters could not have used its ability.

(Q) What about similar abilities on pumps?
(A) Pumps give their abilities to the pumped card.
Example: A gladiator with a pump that says "OR: +1 ADMG", would increase the pumped gladiators ADMG.

(Q) Can an ability effect other characters ADMG, DDMG, etc?
(A) Yes, but it would need to target them and would still follow proper timing, meaning the character you target would have to be able to use the damage type.
Example: An OR quick-hit says "Target gladiator gains +2 ADMG". You could only play this on an attacking gladiator.

Crowd Favor
(Q) If cheer is tied who has the crowd favor?
(A) No one does. When the highest cheer is tied, the crowd is undecided.

Rage
(Q) If an attack makes you rage, can you use rage effects during that attack?
(A) No. Only after the action ends that made you rage, can you start using rage effects.

Death
(Q) When does a card get scrapped/destroyed?
(A) A card is considered scrapped/destroyed as soon the effect that scrapped/destroyed them resolves. However, the card and any pumps on that card are not considered removed from play until all effects in the effect chain resolve. This means if a character has effects that are triggered after they are scrapped/destroyed, the effect is playable, since the card is still technically in play until the action ends. This also means, characters can deal rage damage in an attack that destroys them, use abilities on their card, etc.

(Q) If a character dies from paying life, does it count as scrapping or destroying that character.
(A) Paying Life is considered scrapping, not destroying and as such does not trigger destroy effects. As a general rule, when you get rid of your own cards, usually as a type of cost, it is scrapping, otherwise, as part of an effect it is considered destroying.

Cheer
(Q) My opponent just used a cheer to make a positive into a negative. Can I use a cheer to make that negative back into a positive?
(A) No.
(Q) But I really want to!
(A) Sorry, still no.           :-)

(Q) When can I spend cheer to make a positive into a negative?
(A) You can spend cheer any time during an action up until when Flow is resolved.

(Q) Do you need Crowd Favor to use cheer to turn a (+) action into a (Ė) action?
(A) No, you donít need to be the Crowd Favorite.

Win Timing
(Q) What happens if there are multiple win conditions satisfied during the same action?
(A) Wins happen first in, first out, just like all other actions except the 4th Wave win, which happens at the end of the fourth wave.
(Q) So, if I attack and kill his last gladiator and then he deals rage damage and kills my last gladiator, who wins?
(A) You win since the attack damage happens first. Hereís how it breaks down. First, the defending gladiator is destroyed as an effect of the attack damage. Next, since you have flow, your win condition, which is triggered after your opponentís last gladiator is destroyed, takes place. Only then would your opponents gladiator deal rage and defense damage, however itís already too late.
(Q) Ok, but what if I play a card that kills both our teams giving us both an annihilation win?
(A) Well, both of you would have continuous responses to the effect that allow the win, however, since you have Flow, your continuous response happens first and you would win the game.



 
© 2003 Ophidian Inc.
Site Design by Rokasoft
Website problems: webmaster@ophidiangames.com